

Nominations

Nominations for the 2025 local elections open on 4 July 2025. For Waikato Regional Council, the following positions will be elected.

- One member for the Ngā Hau e Whā Māori General Constituency
- One member for the Ngā Tai ki Uta Māori General Constituency
- One member for the Thames-Coromandel General Constituency
- Two members for the Waikato General Constituency
- Four members for the Hamilton General Constituency
- Two members for the Waihou General Constituency
- Two members for the Waipā/King Country General Constituency
- One member for the Taupō/Rotorua General Constituency

Nominations must be made on the appropriate nomination paper for each position.

Completed nomination documents must be received by the Electoral Officer no later than 12 noon on Friday, 1 August 2025. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 including GST, payable by eftpos or online banking.

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and colour photograph for sending with voting documents to electors.

All nomination documents must be lodged together.

Candidates should refer to the candidate handbook for further details. Nomination papers and a candidate handbook can be found here on our website, or are available on request from the Electoral Officer: 0800 800 401 or elections@waikatoregion.govt.nz.

Electoral rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls can be inspected during normal office hours at the Waikato Regional Council office, 160 Ward Street, Hamilton, or alternatively, your city or district council office from Friday, 4 July 2025 to Friday, 1 August 2025.

Electors may enroll or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by completing an enrolment form available at district or city council offices. Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm on Friday, 1 August 2025.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the relevant district or city council electoral officer before 5pm on 1 August 2025.

For more information, refer to the relevant district or city council website below.

Hamilton City Council	hamilton.govt.nz/elections2025
Hauraki District Council	hauraki-dc.govt.nz/council/elections
Matamata-Piako District Council	mpdc.govt.nz/our-council/elections
Ōtorohanga District Council	otodc.govt.nz/about-council/elections
Rotorua Lakes Council	rotorualakescouncil.nz/our-council/local-elections
South Waikato District Council	southwaikato.govt.nz/our-council/elections
Taupō District Council	taupodc.govt.nz/vote25
Thames-Coromandel District Council	tcdc.govt.nz/elections
Waikato District Council	waikatodistrict.govt.nz/elections
Waipā District Council	waipadc.govt.nz/our-council/elections
Waitomo District Council	waitomo.govt.nz/council/triennial-elections/local-elections-2025

Mali Ahipene – Electoral Officer Dave Doggart – Deputy Electoral Officer Waikato Regional Council Private Bag 3038 Hamilton 3240

0800 800 401 elections@waikatoregion.govt.nz waikatoregion.govt.nz/elections

